Visit Brexit microsite
Skip to main content

Nominations for the National Apprenticeship Awards now open

Published on: 09 May 2019

apprenticeship awards 2019

Entering their 16th edition, nominations for The National Apprenticeship Awards are now open. Once again they are set to recognise and celebrate the best apprentices, employers and apprentice champions across various sectors in the UK.

The deadline for submitting nominations is May 24 2019.

The Awards are split into regional and national events, with the regional winners entering and attending the national awards event.

This year, the apprentice of the year categories include:

  • Intermediate level 2
  • Advanced level 3
  • Higher or degree level (level 4 or above)

The employer of the year categories include:

  • SME employer of the year (for organisations with 1 to 249 employees)
  • Large employer of the year (for organisations with 250 to 4,999 employees)
  • Macro employer of the year (for organisations with 5,000+ employees)

Other categories include:

  • The rising star award
  • The recruitment excellence award
  • The apprentice champion award

The rising star award category requires an employer to nominate an apprentice and includes a public vote.

The recruitment excellence award winner will be selected from the employer of the year award entries and will be awarded to an employer who has recruited a high quality and diverse apprentice workforce.

For the first time, the apprenticeship champion award winner will need to be nominated by a colleague or contact who recognises their contribution and efforts in championing apprenticeships.

The national apprenticeship awards website has guidance and tips on the process of applying and writing nominations for each category. To register and apply to this year’s awards, please visit